Luminaires of different periods from the collection of the Museum of Energy of Latvenergo Group will be on display at the collaboration exhibition organised by theLatvian Railway History Museum together with 19 Latvian museums as part of the Staro Rīga Light Festival until 25 November.
From 17 November to 25 November, the Latvian Railway History Museum at Uzvaras bulvāris 2A, Riga, holds the exhibition “Luminaires of Latvian Museums under the Latvian Railway History Museum’s Sky”, providing an insight into the history of the luminaries used in different periods.
The exhibition will feature more than 200 luminaires, which together will form a single light installation, comprising unique and standard luminaires of various colours, shapes and materials – signal lights, hand lanterns, rushlight holders, the Daugava boatman lights and the Salacgrīva Port beacon, wind-proof lanterns – both crafted and factory-made in different European countries, carbide and kerosene lamps, a clay chandelier, as well as household lighting fittings used in the 19th and 20th centuries, such as desk and wall lamps and chandeliers.
The collection of the Museum of Energy of Latvenergo Group will be represented at the exhibition “Luminaires of Latvian Museums under the Latvian Railway History Museum’s Sky” by 22 luminaires and an advertising board of the manufacturer of electrical light bulbs Osram (Berlin). The exhibits will include five kerosene lamps used in the 20th century and one OPTIMUS 300 lamp produced in Sweden at the end of the 1930s. The electric lighting history will be represented by the electric floodlight of the Riga City Park substation dating back to 1939, which illuminated its area from 1939 to the 1980s. The exhibition will also showcase electric luminaires manufactured in a not so distant past that were used to illuminate industrial and commercial premises. An intriguing exhibit is the electric wall lamp produced at the Riga Electric Fittings Plant (later renamed Riga Electromechanical Plant) in the 1940s and 1950s. Such electric lamps have been illuminating the premises of the Jāņciems substation since the 1950s until today.
The exhibition “Luminaires of Latvian Museums under the Latvian Railway History Museum’s Sky” in the premises of the Latvian Railway History Museum at Uzvaras bulvāris 2A, Riga, is open to visitors from 17:00 hrs to 23:00 hrs every day from 17 November to 20 November and from 10:00 hrs to 17:00 hrs from 21 November to 25 November (inclusive).